Moringa trees fire

Does anyone have experience with moringa trees being burnt (or any kind of tree)? I work with a farm in Ghana that had a number of trees on our moringa plot burn when a nearby fire crossed over the fire belt :frowning:

Can the trees recover? Any horticulturalists out there who can help?

1 Like

Peter,
I’m no expert, just relying on experience. I would pick several trees and start pruning back branches until I found green wood. Likely the smaller branches’ cambium later and sapwood were destroyed. If you leave these on the tree, they will contribute to drying out any surviving wood and weaken any living parts.

I suspect the roots and lower trunk may still be viable. Continue pruning back to old growth and, hopefully, green wood. You will lose several years’ worth of branch growth, but may yet save the tree.
Hope this helps. Breaks my heart to see this loss.
Rich Flanders
Virginia

Thanks for sharing Rich. We will try peeling back the cambium on a few trees to see how severe the damage looks and go from there.

This happened a number of times to us in Cambodia as nearby corn stubble fields were burned to capture mice; our orchard was also burned in the process. I know how disappointing this can be and I’m sorry for your loss. Like Rich said, it depends on how deep the burn went, but most of our trees re-sprouted from the ground or from the first live wood on the trunk. There is hope!

Thanks for sharing your experience, Holly. Did you mulch the trees in this picture?

Hi Peter,
Sharing my experience, not expert or anything but the trees will recover. We once clear our field by burning some trees remained looked just that and they regrow after 5 month or so…and it was beginning of rain season. I guess if the stems and roots not severely damaged it wont take long to recover

This is very sad development and we need to advocate against the practices.