Organic Farming in Wet Clay!

Hi there. I am an organic farming consultant in Jamaica. I have been spoiled by prime soil and conditions over the years, but my latest project is in the rainforest with very clay soil. Saturation of the soil is at 100%, there is very little sun, and everything has a thin layer of mold growing on it…lovely. Any crops/practices you could recommend in these conditions??

With Thanks,

Liz

2 Likes

Malabar spinach likes constant moisture, but it needs a lot of sun. It is a vine and it will grow up and above the shade. https://www.echocommunity.org/en/resources/c28fd084-e5f5-4d31-9b26-bc11f0388b07

“Malabar Spinach tolerates a wide range of soil conditions but does best on slightly acidic (pH 6-6.7) humus-rich sandy loams.”

We have had a lot of good results from the Malabar spinach, even in fairly alkaline soils. We use container gardening a lot, so we make our own soil with a lot of organic material and usually a significant component of sand. But the origins of the plant are in the humid tropics.

1 Like

Greetings,
As an enthusiast of Annonaceae plants, this would seem to be ideal conditions for Annona glabra, and Soursop might be a good option, or possibly Soursop grafted onto Annona glabra, if that were possible. An overhead canopy of trees would certainly protect against wind which is typically a weakness of many Annonas.

2 Likes

See:
“Shade tolerance of tropical forage legumes for use in agroforestry systems”

You might need to start with raised beds.

Organic matter improves any soil. In the tropics, soil organic matter and soil fertility are essentially the same things. Best to mulch with organic matter. Incorporation is problematic. Earthworms could help.

Is there no sunshine or just too much shade?

2 Likes

Hi Liz, I had a similar issue with our research Farm near Seattle WA. (BTW, I’m looking for people in Jamaica to work with, would love to chat sometime)