Relative Humidity in tropical seed bank design

Hello from Zimbabwe. I’m building several seed banks in very hot areas for storing indigenous tree seeds. I’m not a structural engineer, so have some (probably basic!) questions regarding humidity. I have added a cavity wall into the design, faced it away from the sun, wide eaves to limit sun also, etc, so hopefully the temperatures will be lower and not fluctuating too much. There is also damp-proof course in the design. My question is how many vents to add. If I add vents to add airflow to decrease RH, then it will draw in the hot air from outside, increasing the temperature… How to decrease humidity without increasing the temperature? There is budget for a small solar system enough for lights, maybe a small fan, but not an air-conditioning unit nor dehumidifier. The seeds are being dried, then stored in sealed buckets (paint buckets essentially), so hopefully the humidity isn’t too much of an issue, but I’d still like to get it clearer in my mind. Thanks in advance, Beth.

1 Like