Water for farming

I’m a farmer in Kajiado Kenya. Our land is so fertile but the problem is lack of water. I am looking for a partner who can help in sinking a borehole for commercial farming of horticulture and herbs

1 Like

I am also based in Kajiado County. This is a common problem but we can put our heads together.

1 Like

You don’t necessarily need to drill a deep well. I put several water harvesting trenches on our farm in Central Tanzania, and now I have water all year round in my shallow wells. I can take out 5,000-10,000 liters a day and still be fine.
Search on youtube for “water harvesting swales”.
It’s a lot cheaper, and also more sustainable.

3 Likes

Ok thanks for letting me know.

You can find more infos in these videos:

That should give you a good picture on how to start.

3 Likes

That’s exactly the kind of information I was looking for. I have started farming in Eastern Uganda. Unfortunately, it suffers from both poor soils and being in a semi-arid region.

Sorry to hear that. Use own made manure from green vegetation and animal manures.

1 Like

Try to get into contact with someone who teaches permaculture in Uganda and/or Kenya. Unfortunately, I don’t know anybody there personally.
There is a whatsapp group for permaculture/agroecology in Africa, and there are a number of Ugandans and Kenyans in that group as well. I can try to get some information for you there.

Alternatively, you can just search for “permaculture uganda” or “permaculture kenya” on google or youtube and you will get some results. Then go there and look what they are doing.

2 Likes

Thanks, I’ll check them out.

Good morning from Kenya. I just started the water harvesting and the rain came just after the symposium we had in South Sudan.

I hadn’t known the importance. It was only used for watering animals :confused:

1 Like